Hawks head to Morgantown, play Mountaineers in NIVC
The Hawks will make the first appearance in the NIVC, facing the Mountaineers for the second time in school history
Nov. 26, 2017

PRINCESS ANNE, Maryland — This past week, Maryland Eastern Shore’s volleyball squad earned an automatic bid to the National Invitational Volleyball Championship (NIVC), entering their third postseason appearance. On Sunday (Nov. 26), the Hawks learned that they will face the West Virginia Mountaineers in Morgantown on Tuesday (Nov. 28). A 7 p.m. first serve is scheduled inside WVU Coliseum.

The Last Meeting
Maryland Eastern Shore3
West Virginia1
September 7, 2012
Morgantown, W.V.
UMES made a statement against a major-conference opponent on Friday, taking down Big 12 member West Virginia in four sets (27-25, 25-16, 19-25, 25-19) on the road to open the WVU Golden Horseshoe Challenge at the WVU Coliseum. The Hawks improve to 8-1 on the year while the Mountaineers fall to 3-6.

The most recent postseason tournament for the Hawks came in 2012, when Maryland Eastern Shore won 28 matches and a MEAC title. They faced Nebraska in the opening round of the NCAA Tournament and were swept in a 3-0 loss. The Hawks also made a trip to the NCAA’s in 2011, losing in three to UCLA.

This week’s matchup presents the best opportunity for the program’s first ever postseason victory past the MEAC Championship. The Hawks and Mountaineers have squared off once before, with The Shore earning a 3-1 victory on Sept. 7, 2012.

Maryland Eastern Shore has already achieved the second most wins for volleyball in a single season so far, going 27-8 during the campaign. A victory over the Mountaineers would match the 2012 team for most in program history.

West Virginia finished the season with a record of 18-12. The Mountaineers went 6-10 in Big 12 play, but capped off the regular season with an upset five set victory over #14 Kansas this past Friday (Nov. 25).



Originally held from 1989-1995, the NIVC is a revived 32 team, single-elimination tournament that provides opportunities for teams who do not make the NCAA Tournament. In the first incarnation, Wisconsin won the event twice, and lists themselves as prior champions along with Houston, Kentucky, Washington State, LSU, and Cal State Northridge.

Rounds one and two of the NIVC will be played between November 28th through the 30th, with the quarterfinals and semifinals taking place in early December. The championship will be contested on December 12th and televised live on ESPN3.

Should the Hawks win they will face the victor of the Temple/Campbell match on Wednesday (Nov. 29).

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago