Former Hawk Anggie Ramirez was a two-time MVP of the event.

Nov. 14, 2013

PRINCESS ANNE, Md. - In 2010 the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) won the Hawk Classic for the first time. That was the beginning of several more wins, including the MEAC, NCAA and USBC Collegiate Titles. Last season UMES won it again and turned that into a 2013 MEAC and USBC Collegiate Championship. What will the 2013 version of the Hawk Classic hold for the Hawks? It remains to be seen, but what collegiate bowling fans do know is that they will watch a quality event with many of the nation's top teams.

First-year head coach Kayla Bandy will oversee her first Hawk Classic and the ninth straight event. Assistant Coach Tyler Schmitz is working on his second event, but the commitment remains the same from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore and Millsboro Lanes, the host center for all nine events.

"We are very grateful to Millsboro Lanes," said G. Stan Bradley Associate Director of Athletics for External Affairs. "They have been great, they go above and beyond each year and I think they genuinely like having us. From the time Coach Brummell started this event and with the bonds she forged, we have enjoyed a first-class event every time."

This season's Hawk Classic features a new sponsor, as the tournament is now officially, The Eastern Shore Hawk Classic, sponsored by Brunswick, who earned the naming rights after striking a deal to be the Official Bowling Ball of UMES, earlier this year.

The ninth annual UMES Hawk Classic gets underway Friday, November 15 at Millsboro Lanes in Millsboro, Del. and runs three days. It features a 17-team field that may be the best of any event in the nation as it features 12 of the nation's top 20 teams. It also includes two more programs receiving notes in the National Tenpins Coaches Association (NTCA) poll.

The host site, Millsboro Lanes, has been the site for all eight previous events. While the location hasn't changed, the tournament has. What was a two day event featuring anywhere between 16 and 19 teams, now is a three day bowling extravaganza featuring up to 18 teams. The three day format began in 2008.



"This is really an undertaking, but well worth it" said Bradley. "I commend our bowling coaches, athletic administration and the great folks in Millsboro. We are proud of how it runs, operationally and from a fan standpoint. We do it because the athletes and coaches keep coming back and having nothing but positive comments."

While the hosts Lady Hawks have had some success in the past, they boast a 75-26 mark in the event, 2010 was the first time they won, finishing over 500 pins better than runner-up Central Missouri State. They also posted two 1,200 pin performances that year, including a 1207 in team games that stands as the event record. In 2011 they took fourth place before winning again last season in the 2012-13 athletic year. In total, the Hawks won the event in 2010 & 2012, finished third twice, in 2007 and 2009 and were fourth last season in 2011 as they were in 2006 and 2008. However, UMES has never finished worse than fifth place in the tournament; they took that spot in 2005.

This year's field features the No. 5 Hawks, no. 2 Vanderbilt and no. 3 Central Missouri.. It also includes no. 7 Fairleigh Dickinson, no. 10, St. Francis University, no. 11 Adelphi, no. 12 Kutztown, no. 13 Sacred Heart, no. 15 Norfolk State, no. 16 LIU Brooklyn, no. 17 Saint Francis-Brooklyn and no. 18 New Jersey City. Vanderbilt has had the most success in the event. After finishing third in the inaugural tournament, they won four straight titles from 2006-2009, including an 11-1 mark in `09. In 2012 they rebounded from 11th place in 2010 to win their fifth Hawk Classic title. They took third last season. FDU won in 2005 and placed third in 2006 and second in 2007, they were the runners up to Vanderbilt last year. New Jersey City was second the first two years of the event. Last year Central Missouri took runner-up honors as they went seven games with the champion Hawks. Only Vanderbilt, FDU and UMES have won this event and they are only three of the four teams to have ever won a National Championship.

The Hawks hope to build on the performance last weekend when they went 9-1 at the first MEAC Northern Division meet. Action starts Friday at noon with five sets of quad-Baker games, continues at 9 a.m. on Saturday with five traditional team games and concludes 8:30 a.m. on Sunday with bracket play in a best four-of-seven game Baker format. All games are bowled on the NCAA Transfer Brush pattern number five, the longest of the NCAA patterns.

Admission is free to the public. Members of the media are encouraged to attend and can call G. Stan Bradley at 410-845-6782 to arrange interviews and photos. UMES, as usual will stream all of its matches via UStream. The event will also feature a live stream with a featured pair where many of the teams will rotate through and fans can watch their team bowl. UMES will also keep social media accounts updated throughout each day and will post tournament updates on

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago