T'nia Falbo with the Chris Stoehr Sportsmanship Award.

April 20, 2013

LINCOLN, Neb. - The University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) senior stars Anggie Ramirez (Bogota, Colombia) and T'nia Falbo (Greensburg, Pa.) claimed one last award in their collegiate careers, All-Tournament Team at the United State Bowling Congress (USBC) Intercollegiate Team Championships (ITC). Falbo would also earn the prestigious Chris Stoehr Sportsmanship Award.

The pair, along with Jazreel Tan of Wichita State, Brandy Hensley of Pikeville, Deanne Dirado of Kutztown and MVP Amanda Greene of Lindenwood, rounded out the squad.

Former Hawk Maria Rodriguez was the last to make the All-Tournament Team when UMES won in 2011.

Falbo, also claimed the Chris Stoehr Sportsmanship Award, which is designed to recognize the male or female collegiate bowler who best exemplifies true sporting behavior and the highest degree of character on and off the lanes. The award is presented annually at the ITC and is voted upon by collegiate coaches. Falbo was nominated by her coach, Kristina Frahm.

The anchor for the Hawks, Falbo, tossed a clutch double in the final frame to take the come from behind victory in game two and clinch the title.

"To be under all these lights with everyone staring at you there's a little more pressure," Falbo said. "I just realized that my girls trusted me to make the shots, and everything I have practiced the last four years came out in that final frame."

The xbowling Intercollegiate Team Championships featured the top 16 men's and top 16 women's college bowling teams in the country vying for national titles. All 32 teams competed in best-of-seven, double-elimination match play in the Baker format Friday, after which the field was pared down to the finalists in both the men's and women's divisions.



For more information on the xbowling Intercollegiate Team Championships, visit BOWL.com/ITC.

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago