Mariana Alvarado

April 14, 2014

FAIRFAX, Va. - Juniors Mariana Alvarado and Tatiana Munoz of the women's bowling team, have been named to the women's team for the Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award. The pair was recognized in the Diverse Issues In Higher Education Magazine's April 10th issue.

The pair are both highly decorated athletically and academically. Munoz recently received a pair of honors from the University for academics and both are members of the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Commissioner's All-Academic Team. Alvarado is coming off a selection to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team and a second All-America distinction from the National Tenpins Coaches Association (NTCA).

Both are wearing two National Championship rings as part of those teams in 2012 and 2013.

The duo was selected because they maintain a cumulative GPA over a 3.2 and are active in their campus and in their community. The award, established by the magazine, recognizes "undergraduate students of color who best exemplify academic and athletic achievement."

The award is inspired by tennis legend Arthur Ashe Jr.'s commitment to education as well as his love for the game of tennis, every college and university in the country is invited to nominate outstanding sports scholars. In addition to their athletic ability, Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholars must exhibit academic excellence and community activism.

Tatiana Munoz

The award selects two males and two females as the recipient of the award. This year University of Maryland Eastern Shore's own Ishaq Pitt, from men's basketball was a winner along with Penn State football's John Urschel. For the women, the publication selected UNC-Chapel Hill's Michelle Ikoma in gymnastics and Columbia track and field's Marvellous Iheukwumere.

Past award recipients include: Baylor University's Robert Griffin III, Heisman Trophy winner and Washington Redskins quarterback (2011); the University of Tennessee's Kara Lawson, ESPN analyst who played for the WNBA's Sacramento Monarchs (2003); San Diego State University's Marshall Faulk, NFL Hall of Famer (1993); the University of Kansas' Jacque Vaughn, head coach of the NBA's Orlando Magic (1996); and North Carolina State University's Russell Wilson, Seattle Seahawks quarterback (2011).

Alvarado and Munoz were two of eight collegiate bowlers from around the nation selected. Two were from fellow MEAC school Hampton, Tiauna Mathieu and Laina Rivers. 2014 NCAA runner-up Nebraska also had a pair of selections with one each from LIU-Brooklyn and Valparaiso.

Alvarado and Munoz are the first selections for UMES since 2011 when bowlers Martha Perez and Anggie Ramirez were selected. Prior to that it was 2008 when women's basketball player Brittany Adkins was named a First-Team selection for her sport.



Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago