Anggie Ramirez, seen here accepting an award last season, is up for another honor.

March 28, 2013

ARLINGTON, Texas - The International Bowling Media Association (IBMA) has announced the sixteen finalists (eight men and eight women) for the 2013 College Bowler of the Year. Senior standout Anggie Ramirez (Bogota, Colombia) was included on that list for her outstanding season and is the only women bowler from the NCAA on the list.

Ramirez has had a stellar season, earning Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Bowler of the Year, All-MEAC First-Team, MEAC Championship MVP and MEAC All-Tournament Team awards. She also won two tournament MVPs and was named Bowler of the Week by the conference six times.

She is averaging a 212.98 overall this season and has a high game of a 279, shot her first tournament of the year at the Eastern Shore Hawk Classic, sponsored by Hammer. Ramirez has knocked down 11,288 pins in team games and bowled in 53 team and 65 Baker matches this season.

This is the third straight year that UMES has had a finalist. Maria Rodriguez (Ibague Tolima, Colombia) in 2010-2011 and last season T'nia Falbo (Greensburg, Pa.) both earned a place among the finalist.

The IBMA Committee, comprised of members who are bowling media and former college coaches, met on March 26, 2013 to determine the top eight male and female bowlers eligible to receive the award.

The winners will be announced at the Night of Champions banquet and reception on April 17, 2013 in Lincoln, Neb. The evening festivities will conclude with the announcement of the IBMA Bowlers of the Year as well as presentations to the National Collegiate Bowling Coaches Association (NCBA) All Americans, NCBCA Gordon Teigen Award winner (volunteer service to collegiate bowling) and NCBCA Kerm Helmer Coach of the Year Award.

The 2012 Winners were Jazreel Tan, Wichita State and Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois. Both players are in the running again this year.



The IBMA (BWAA) College Bowler of the Year Award is given each season to the male and female bowlers who excel on the lanes in USBC officially certified tournament play. Players must have a cumulative 32 games in to be considered for the award. Many professional and high-ranking amateur bowlers have received the award which was established in 1987 to honor the sport's finest young players and bring media attention to college bowling.

Notable past winners of the award include Kayla Bandy (2), Chris Barnes, Lynda Norry Barnes (2), Missy Belinder Parkin, Josh Blanchard, Joe Ciccone, PJ Haggerty (3), Liz Johnson, Kelly Kulick (2), Dan MacLelland (2), Bill O'Neil (3), Shannon Pluhowsky and Rick Steelsmith.

The Nominees are as follows:

Mike Conn, Morehead State
Cameron Foster, William Penn
Marshall Kent, Robert Morris-Illinois
Kyle King, Robert Morris-Illinois
Nick Kruml, Wisconsin-Whitewater
Dan Lemiesz, Lindenwood
Kyle Sherman, Lindenwood
Chris Via, Notre Dame-Ohio

Amanda Greene, Lindenwood
Caitlin Hoffman, Robert Morris-Illinois
Daria Kovalova, Wichita State
Anggie Ramirez, Maryland Eastern Shore
Tannya Roumimper, Wichita State
Jazreel Tan, Wichita State
Katie Thornton, Webber International
Diana Zavjalova, Webber International

International Bowling Media Association
The International Bowling Media Association (IBMA) is the world's most prominent bowling media and communications organization. Since 1934, when it began as the Bowling Writers Association of America, it has been a primary industry source for bowling news and information for the global sport and business of bowling.

Portions of this release appear compliments of the IBMA.

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago