UMES plans on bringing home another trophy at this year's championships.

March 27, 2013

INDIANAPOLIS, Ind. - The University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) Hawks heard their name called for a tenth straight year today. The team, coaches, administrators and University President Dr. Juliette B. Bell, all gathered in the conference room of the William P. Hytche Athletic Center to watch the 2013 Women's Bowling Selection Show. They all cheered when they heard their name called, meaning that UMES will get a chance to earn their third consecutive and fourth overall NCAA Championship.

The selection show aired on NCAA.com today at 4 p.m. ET and is archived for viewing. The eight team field competing for the 2013 title includes six teams from the Central region and just two from the Northeast. For the first time in the history of the ten year event, the NCAA revealed the team in order of their rank by the selection committee. In order, they are:

1. Central Missouri
2. Maryland Eastern Shore
3. Nebraska
4. Arkansas State
5. Vanderbilt
6. Sam Houston State
7. Wisconsin-Whitewater
8. Fairleigh Dickinson

With the selections, UMES joins Central Missouri and Nebraska as the only three teams to attend all 10 championships.

"We are honored to be the second overall selection," said head coach Kristina Frahm. "I do feel however that we have a top team and I think our experiences can help us make a serious run at winning another National Championship. Obviously, we are looking for a three-peat," Frahm smiled.

UMES won its second consecutive National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship in 2012 at Freeway Lanes in Wickliffe, Ohio defeating Fairleigh Dickinson in six games, winning the final game 203-176. With the victory, the Hawks became the first team since Nebraska in 2004-05 to win back-to-back national titles. They also won in 2009. Each school has three total NCAA titles and are the only two programs in existence that have won both an NCAA and USBC Collegiate National Championship.



All of the National Champions to date are represented in the field. FDU won in 2006 and 2010 with UMES winning in 2008, 2011 and 2012. Vanderbilt won the other title in 2007. The Hawks were runners up to Vandy in 2007, finished fifth in 2010 and seventh in 2004, 2005, 2006 and 2009. UMES won in 2011 when they rebounded from a two-games-to-one deficit to top Vanderbilt and capture the Championship at Skore Lanes in Taylor, Mich.

UMES is currently ranked third in the National Tenpins Coaches Association (NTCA) Coaches' poll and second in the Media poll. This season the field represents the top eight teams in the coach's poll. The Hawks are coming off a win in the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) Championships and have won ten of the 13 events they entered this season. The other three they took second.

"We haven't been worse than second all year," said junior standout and All-MEAC player Megan Buja (Rockford, Ill.). "I think we have a really good chance at winning."

The University of Detroit Mercy and the Detroit Sports Commission will host the championship, which will be held April 11-13 at Super Bowl Lanes in Canton, Michigan. The championship finals will air on ESPNU Saturday, April 13 at 8 p.m. Eastern Time. A tape delay broadcast of the championship finals will air on ESPN Sunday, April 14 from 2 - 3:30 p.m. Eastern Time.

Tickets can be purchased on www.NCAA.com prior to the championship.

Competition begins with qualifying rounds in which each team bowls one five-person regular team game against each of the other seven teams participating in the championship for a total of seven games. Teams will be seeded for bracket play based on their win-loss record during the qualifying rounds.

Teams will then compete in best-of-seven-games Baker matches in a double elimination tournament. In the Baker format, each of the five team members, in order, bowls a complete frame until a complete (10-frame) game is bowled. A Baker match tied 3½ games to 3½ games after seven games will be decided by a tiebreaker using the Modified Baker format.

For more information about the National Collegiate Women's Bowling Championship, log on to www.NCAA.com.

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago