Joshua James earned all-conference honors for the first time in his UMES career.

May 15, 2013

2013 MEAC Regular Season Honors

NORFOLK, Va. - The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference has announced that two UMES players, Joshua James and Brandon Schott, have earned a place on the All-MEAC Second Team, the league announced on Wednesday.

The all-conference selections were voted on by the league's head coaches and sports information directors.

James (Milford, Del.) earns his first-ever spot on the All-MEAC Team after improving his batting average by over 50 points from 2012. The UMES second baseman finished third on the team with 12 extra base hits and fourth with 17 runs batted in. He finished the regular season batting .246 with 14 runs, six stolen bases, 13 walks and eight multi-hit games.

Schott (Warren, Pa.), a member of the Johnny Bench Award List to be in competition with the top catchers in college baseball, earned All-MEAC honors for the first time in his UMES career. He is the top run-producer of the team with 26 RBI and five sacrifice flies. Schott hit .261 in 2013, hitting 14 doubles on the year. On the year he had seven multi-hit games and earned a nine-game hitting streak from March 16th through the 29th.

The All-MEAC First Team consists of Delaware State's Eddie Sorondo (C), JP Frey (2B), Cameron Cecil (3B), Aaron Nardone (OF) and Mike Alexander (DH), Bethune-Cookman's Montana Durapau (P), Jordan Dailey (RP) and Josh Johnson (OF), North Carolina A&T's Kelvin Freeman (1B) and Luke Tendler (SS), North Carolina Central's Luiz Diaz (OF) and Savannah State's Kyle McGowin (P).

Joining James and Schott on the All-MEAC Second Team is Delaware State's Elliott Gardner (P), George Michael (RP) and Hassan Evans (OF), Norfolk State's Zach Markel (1B) and Cameron Day (OF), Savannah State's Joseph McCrary (3B) and Todd Hagan (SS), Florida A&M's Marlon Gibbs (OF) and North Carolina Central's Glen Frye (P).



The conference also released its yearly baseball awards. The league named North Carolina A&T's Kelvin Freeman the MEAC Player of the Year. Savannah State earned the other three awards, with Mendez Elder getting MEAC Rookie of the Year, Kyle McGowin being named MEAC Pitcher of the Year and Carlton Hardy honored as MEAC Coach of the Year.

James, Schott and the Hawks will take on North Carolina Central in the MEAC Tournament on Thursday at 9:00 a.m.

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago