Tre-von Johnson has been an all-conference player the last two seasons.

May 15, 2012

2012 MEAC Baseball All-Conference Team

NORFOLK, Va. - The Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference has announced that University of Maryland Eastern Shore center fielder Tre-von Johnson has been named to the All-MEAC Second Team.

This is the second consecutive season that Johnson (East New Market, Md.) has earned all-conference honors, bring named on the Second Team in 2011. He is the second player, along with Bryan Chaikowsky, to be an all-conference performer at least two years under coach Will Gardner.

Johnson is recognized as an all-conference selection after hitting .311 for the Hawks in the regular season. He led the team with 57 hits, 12 stolen bases and four sacrifice flies. He also earned 11 doubles and 21 RBI, each tying second on the team. In 48 starts this season, including 47 games in center field, the junior did not commit an error to finish with a perfect 1.000 fielding percentage.

He had a MEAC Player of the Week honor for the period ending April 15th after hitting .625 during that week, including a 6-for-6 game and a nine-hit doubleheader against Norfolk State.

On Friday, May 11th, Johnson hit an RBI single against Delaware State in game two to pass Phil Vaughn as the all-time hits leader in UMES history with hit number 173. He currently stands with 176 hits in his career.

The conference named Ryan Haas of Delaware State the MEAC Player of the Year, Rayan Gonzalez of Bethune-Cookman the MEAC Pitcher of the Year, Rexford Davis of Savannah State the MEAC Rookie of the Year and JP Blandin of Delaware State the MEAC Coach of the Year.



The All-MEAC First Team consists of Jordan Elliott (P), Eddie Sorondo (C), Haas (1B) and Cameron Cecil (3B) of Delaware State, Gonzalez (P), Jordan Dailey (RP), Brashad Johnson (SS) and David Lee (OF) of Bethune-Cookman, Marquis Riley (2B) of North Carolina A&T, Luis Diaz (OF) of North Carolina Central and Cameron Day (OF) of Norfolk State.

Joining Johnson on the Second Team is Kelvin Freeman (1B), Luke Tendler (3B) and Michael Radford (SS) of North Carolina A&T, Kyle McGowin (P) and Julius Green (OF) of Savannah State, Matt McClain (P), JP Frey (2B) and Aaron Nardone (OF) of Delaware State, and Jordan Egan (RP) and Chris Warren (C) of Norfolk State.

Johnson and the Hawks will face North Carolina Central on Wednesday at 7:30 p.m. at Miller Field in Norfolk in UMES's first game in the MEAC Tournament.

Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago