May 8, 2008

PRINCESS ANNE, Md. - In a year of much athletic success, the University of Maryland Eastern Shore (UMES) Department of Athletics has much to be proud of in terms of academic success. In two recent separate events, many Hawks were honored for their academic successes in the classroom. UMES recently hosted their annual Scholar's Luncheon where the department recognized those athletes who have had a lot of success academically while the Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) recently released its All-Academic Team, featuring 40 student-athletes from UMES.

In the annual Scholar's Luncheon, over 80 of the 178 student-athletes and cheerleaders that participate for the department received accolades for their academic performance. The event featured presentations by Ms. Charlotte Crawford, the Assistant Director of Athletics for Academics, lunch for the athletes in attendance, and a key-note address from former track and field athlete Christopher Havrilla, who graduated summa cum laude in 2007. Havrilla is now a high school track and field coach, science department chair and physics, chemistry and biology teacher at Woodbridge High School in Bridgeville, Del. He has been published in national journals and recognized his time as an athlete at UMES for helping to shape the successes he has had.

The awards handed out included the presentation of the Hawk Award, for those athletes with a 3.0-3.49 GPA and the Model of Excellence Award for those with a 3.5-4.0 GPA. Forty-four Hawk Awards were presented while 37 Model of Excellence Awards were handed out.

In the most prestigious awards of the day, Tyler Love from Baseball and Mishayla Truttman from Softball were named the scholar student-athletes of the year while Pat Hercinger (Baseball), Rashad James (Men's Tennis), Amon Kiprotich (Men's Track & Field), Christina Estebane' (Women's Volleyball), and Rashida Beckford (Women's Track & Field) were all recognized as the first year student-athlete with the highest GPA since all five sported a perfect 4.0.

All in all 15 students were recognized as being members of the 4.0 club between the spring and fall 2007 semesters.

The department also handed out team awards as the baseball team earned the male team of scholars award for having the highest tem GPA while the women's bowling team took the award for the women for the sixth consecutive year. The have won that award since its inception six years ago.

In a separate event, the MEAC announced its 2008 version of the Commissioner's All-Academic Team a short while ago. It featured 585 students from conference's 12 schools that carry a 3.0 or better, cumulative grade point average (GPA). The team honors sophomores to seniors that compete in MEAC sponsored sports.

Commissioner Dennis E. Thomas was quoted as saying, "I congratulate and commend the student-athletes with a 3.0 or better grade point average for their academic success during the 2007-8 school year. These student-athletes have not only excelled in their specific sports but also in the classroom. I also applaud the coaches, institutions, and parents of these academic achievers for their contributions to the student-athletes success."


Women (25): Jelila Abdoul-Bassit (WB, Criminal Justice), Brittany Adkins (WB, Criminal Justice), Janeth Chelangat (WTR, Biology), Samantha Chukwura (VB, Pre-Physician Assist.), Betty Chumbe (WTR, Accounting), Jamie Culbreth (BO, Hotel Restaurant), Jennifer Davis (BO, Sociology/Social Work), Brooke Downey (SB, Rehabilitation), Christina Estebane (VB, Criminal Justice), Shakeyah Habib (SB, Exercise Science), Merrecia James (WTR, Exercise Science), Whitney Johnson (VB, Exercise Science), Christine King (BO, Mathematics), Dawnita Leigh (SB, Criminal Justice), Adora Luster (VB, Business Administration), Soledad Maurice (WTR, Exercise Science), Tiffany Reid (WB, Accounting), Michelle Robinson (VB, Human Ecology), Kendra Saunders (SB, Exercise Science), Katelyn Smith (VB, Rehab Services), Jessica Smithson, (BO, Special Education), Mishayla Truttman (SB, English), Kristi Veltkamp (WB, Human Ecology), Caylin Woodward (VB, Social Science Edu.), Laura Zanrucha (BO, English Education) ...Men (15): Joshua Bright (MB, Business Admin.) Bryan Chaikowsky (BB, Exercise Science), Russel Deutschmann (BB, General Studies), Charles Elmer (TR, Aviation Science), Michael Guy (BB, English Edu.), Clayton James (TR, Mathematics), Danijel Krleski (MB, Business/Marketing), Tyler Love (BB, Technology Edu.), James Moore (TR, Business Admin.), Samuel Mwangi (TR, Agriculture), Aleksandar Popovic (MB, Business Admin.), William Prather (BB, Computer Science), Jerome Pyuzza (MT, Electrical Engineering), Jamahl Strachan (MT, Criminal Justice), Brian White (BB, Computer Science)

Sports Key
CC- Cross Country
CH-Cheerleading (Morgan State)
BB- Baseball
BO- Women's Bowling
FB- Football
GF- Golf
MT- Men's Tennis
SB- Softball
TR- Men's Track
VB- Volleyball
WB- Women's Basketball
WSC- Women's Soccer
WTR- Women's Track



Get Social

  • Loading Tweets...
    1 second ago